How To: Merge Clients and Client People

Overview

With PractiFI as the hub for client engagement, our powerfully simple workflow, and a team consistently engaged in highly visible and client-centric communications in Chatter: you can expect that data duplication will be rare. And when it does happen, we’ve made sure that it’s not a big deal to rectify.

Before we begin, we need to provide a suitably serious warning: the procedure we are about to perform is not reversible. It is important to make sure exactly which clients need merging, and to double (or triple) check that these clients are in fact duplicates and not coincidentally similar. Failure to heed this warning may result in a number of annoyed John Smiths.

How To?

Here’s a step-by-step guide for merging clients and client people.

  1. In the Practice View, identify and select the clients that require merging by clicking the checkboxes to the left of each row. Click the action dropdown and click “Merge Clients”.
  2. You will be taken to the Salesforce “Merge My Entities” screen, and the details for each client you selected in the Practice View will be displayed in a column. Specify which record you wish to retain (the “Master Record”), and specify which values from the various client records you wish to retain… these values will be set on the master record and the duplicates will be deleted. When you are happy, click “Merge”.

Done? Not so fast!

So far we have selected a Master Record and merged values from duplicate records appropriately. However, if you navigate to the Client People tab in the Client View for your newly merged client, you may notice that you now have duplicate contacts. This occurs when you had separate (and duplicate) client people in each of your duplicate clients. Each client person from each client has been merged into a single client. Client people will need merging too.

  1. In our example there are two John Smiths in the Smith Household. This is because there were originally two clients, and each had a separate John Smith as primary contact. Click the acton dropdown and click Merge People.
  2. You will be taken to the Salesforce Merge My People screen, and the details for each person you selected in the Client View will be displayed in a column. Familiar? Specify which record you wish to retain (the “Master Record”), and specify which values from the various people records you wish to retain. These values will be set on the master record and the duplicates will be deleted.

And you’re done!